The Twitter-LinkedIn Breakup

I took the week of July 4th off for a family vacation, so my apologies for this post on week-old news.  In late June, I received the following email from LinkedIn:

LinkedIn's Letter on Sharing with Twitter

What does this mean?  Basically, you can no longer have a post that originates on Twitter automatically be shared to your LinkedIn account (Twitter’s decision).  But, you can continue to originate a post on LinkedIn and have it shared to your Twitter feed (LinkedIn’s decision).

A big part of effective social media is about sharing content, so strike one against Twitter.  LinkedIn’s note to its users is a great PR move, especially when it suggests you originate your message on LinkedIn.  Strike two against Twitter.  Twitter recently updated their Facebook app, allowing users to post their tweets to Facebook.  So Twitter gets a third strike for being hypocritical and inconsistent with their policy.

Are they “out?”  Not so fast.  My initial reaction to Twitter’s decision was somewhat positive because it will force people to be more strategic with their social media usage.  In my very first post, I gave three reasons why you should not auto-synchronize your postings across your social media accounts.  Social media postings should be more strategic, taking into account the audience you’re interacting with and the different etiquette and style of the social media platform.  Unfortunately, many auto-synchronize out of laziness, poor planning and/or a lack of marketing fundamentals.

Be sure to check out your network updates, if you’re on LinkedIn and haven’t checked it since July 1st.  I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised that the quality of the postings are better.  Your network updates should be less cluttered with postings that were appropriate for Twitter but less-so for LinkedIn.

What are your thoughts on Twitter’s policy change?  Is this a strikeout or a home-run for social media users?

11 thoughts on “The Twitter-LinkedIn Breakup

  1. Arthur,

    Like you, I have always believed that synchronizing updates across platforms is a bad idea. In fact, I don’t even look at my LInkedIn feed very often because it is so littered with frequent updates by a very small group of people, all pushed directly from Twitter, which aren’t relevant to my purpose for being on LInkedIn in the first place.

    I think this is a blessing for LInkedIn, and they handled the situation very well by suggesting that users simply initiate their updates on their site, rather than Twitter.

    James Mignano
    http://www.MillennialsMarketing.Wordpress.com

  2. All I can say is “Finally!”. I’ve begged LinkedIn since they started the Twitter integration for some control over what Twitter updates would show up in my updates. As is so common, a few can ruin it for the rest of us: I’ve had a few LI connections who pretty much filled my LI news feed with useless tweets, and as far as LI was concerned, that was OK: The only control I had was to sever the LI/Twitter connection completely, or open the flood gates for messages that were mostly of no use to me in the context of LI. I probably missed quite a few great updates, or notifications about my contacts finding new jobs.

    In general, there is no “catch all” social media platform – and there should not be one. If I’m interested in somebody’s tweets, I do have a Twitter account and I can follow that person. if I don’t follow somebody it’s usually by choice, and i don’t appreciate it when somebody force feeds me what I don’t want to read…

    The unfortunate part is that LI had to be forced to remove this link – If they would have listened to their users (I know that I was not the only one complaining), they would have given use a much finer control over who’s tweets we would see. But, regardless of how we got here, I enjoy the much better signal to noise ratio in my LinkedIn feed.

    I guess I have to say “Thank you, Twitter” .

  3. Agreed 100% I was getting tired of so many useless status updates which were basically Twitter posts which had no business on LinkedIn. This is a great move and elevates the qualityof LinkedIn content.

  4. Pingback: Do You Signal? | Arthur Catalanello Consulting

Leave a Reply

